The Michael Mustill Essay Prize 2020




The International Dispute Resolution Centre (IDRC), in association with St John’s College, Cambridge, is proud to be sponsor of a student prize commemorating the life and work of Michael Mustill, one of the great figures of international and domestic arbitration, as a practitioner, scholar, judge and arbitrator. Lord Mustill was recognised for his exceptional intellect, analytical rigour and unassailable independence as a judge of the English High Court, the Court of Appeal and the House of Lords; qualities that he also carried into his career as advocate, arbitrator, administrator and author of works that include successive editions of Mustill & Boyd on Commercial Arbitration.


The prize of £10,000 is awarded biennially to the winner of a competition for the best essay (in the English language) on any aspect of the law and practice of arbitration in England and Wales (including comparative or international law), as decided by the competition’s judges. The first such competition was held in 2018 and was won by Daniel Judd for his essay entitled "Arbitral Independence as Trusteeship" Entries for the 2020 competition are due no later than 17 February 2020 and the prize will be awarded at a ceremony in late June/early July 2020.


The competition is open to all post-graduate students (who need not be lawyers or law students) on either taught courses or research courses, studying one or more forms of dispute resolution during the year of the competition, particularly any course relevant to the law and practice of international arbitration or arbitration in England and Wales, whether in the United Kingdom or abroad. An entry must not exceed 6,000 words (excluding footnotes), written by a single author; and it must be original work not previously published (albeit not excluding the use of the student’s own prior work).


With St John’s College, Cambridge, entries will be judged by at least three or more judges from a panel comprising Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers, Lord Dyson, Sir Richard Aikens, Sir Jack Beatson, Stewart Boyd QC, Professor Zac Douglas QC, Professor Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler and Professor W.W. Park.


The competition rules and other information about the Michael Mustill Essay Prize can be found on the IDRC’s website If any applicant has any queries to which he or she does not find the answers on the IDRC website (including the prize rules on the website), please contact Rebecca Henderson, Michael Mustill Essay Prize Administrator, The International Dispute Resolution Centre (IDRC), 70 Fleet Street, London EC 4Y 1 EU, United Kingdom; Tel: + 1 44 (0)20 7936 7000; Fax: + 1 44 (0)20 7936 707; Email: